News Article

South Dakota High School Rodeo Finals
South Dakota High School Rodeo Finals
South Dakota High School Rodeo Finals crown champions
Sports Staff - June 18, 2017

BELLE FOURCHE, S.D. - Champions were crowned Saturday at the South Dakota High School Rodeo Finals wrapped up in Belle Fourche.

Colt Hokana of Columbia won the Bareback Riding title to earn a trip to the National Finals Rodeo next month. He will be joined by Jose Alaniz Jr. of Faith and Brady Wolken of New Underwood.

In Barrel Racing, Jill Donnelly of Elk Point captured the crown with 87 points. Karissa Rayhill of Martin, Rachael McCoy of Hermosa and Sydney Theobald of Ft. Pierre will join her on the national team.

In Breakaway Roping, Sawyer Gilbert of Buffalo captured the crown, with Courtney Peters of Hot Springs in third and Ashlee Kritenbrink of Buffalo Gap in fourth.

Lyle Dillon of Allen won the bull riding with a total of 64 points. Martin's Tee Allen finished second, Hunter Johnson of Kadoka brought home third and Blade Forman of Ree Heights captured fourth.

Myles Kenzy of Iona wrapped up another great year with a Boy's Cutting title and a Reined Cow Horse title.

Karissa Rayhill of Martin won the Goat Tying, with Emilee Pauley of Wall placing second. Saywer Gilbert of Buffalo was third and Mary Risse of Martin placed fourth.

Kailyn Groves of Faith won the Girl's Cutting title with 85 points. Pauley from Wall finished in third with Ciarra Stoddard Norris in second.

Emilee Mendel of Baltic won the Pole Bending and Wacey Brown of Piedmont finished second. Sierra Ward of Frutidale was third, and will make the National Team.

Cash Wilson of Wall won the Saddle Bronc title. He will be joined by Dylan Schofield of Philip, Lane Schuelke of Newell and Jake Foster of Meadow on the National Team.

Carson Good of Long Valley won the Steer Wrestling. Trig Olson of Prairie City was second, with Carter Kennedy of Beresford in third.

Leading the Team Roping was Daycen Hunt of Eagle Butte and Riley Hannum of Ft. Pierre with Winston Brown of Piedmont and Nolan Smith of Rapid City in second.

Cord Roberts of Rapid City was the Tiedown champion. Kenzy came in second and Jace Engesser of Spearfish was fourth.

The top four placers in each competition qualify for the National Rodeo Finals.

For complete results, visit the SDHSRA results page at:

South Dakota High School Rodeo Finals Results

Phone number: 605-347-4455
E-mail: [email protected]
Address: 1612 Junction Avenue, Suite #1
Sturgis, SD 57785