Kevin Phillips 11:00am - 12:00pm
Closings, Cancellations and Delays

At the top of the Badlands Circuit Finals

News Staff - October 9, 2019

MINOT, N.D.  – From rookies to established rodeo athletes, the 65th annual Badlands Circuit Finals held October 4-6 in Minot saw some year-long season efforts  topped off with wins and a guaranteed spot at the RAM National Circuit Finals next April.

Eli Lord, Sturgis, SD who has qualified for the circuit finals seven times but never won a year-end or average title, marked both off that list at the event that brings 90 cowboys and cowgirls from North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Wyoming, Colorado and Idaho to Minot, competing for $200,000.

Shorty Garrett, Eagle Butte, SD brought style and substance to the saddle bronc riding. The four-time qualifier won first place twice and tied for first once to win the average. Meanwhile, J.J. Elshere, Hereford, SD – with a $10,000 lead that insured a top spot at the circuit finals– had to sit it out due to a broken leg that happened just days prior at the Corn Palace Challenge in Mitchell, SD.

Winning his second trip to the RAM National Circuit Finals, five-time Badlands Circuit Finals qualifier Trey Young, Dupree, SD, won both the year-end and average title in tie-down roping.

The top twelve qualifiers in each event, after the pro rodeo season ended on Sept. 2, move on to the Badlands Circuit Finals. After the circuit finals ends, the year-end winner and the winner from the weekend go on to the RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo, held in Kissimmee, FL April 2-5, 2020.

Other awards included Rodeo of the Badlands Circuit that went to Sutton produced Rodeo Rapid City.

Stock of the year Bareback Horse of the Year went to Korkow Rodeo, Pierre SD with “Onion Ring.” A horse owned by Sutton Rodeo, Onida, SD took top Saddle Bronc of the Year with “South Point.” The bull named “Chills and Thrills” from Mosbrucker Rodeo, Mandan, ND was selected as the Badlands Bull of the Year.

For the finals awards, the Bareback Horse of the Badlands Circuit Finals went to “Blessed Day,” owned by Championship Rodeo, Greeley, CO. The Saddle Bronc Horse of the Finals was won by “Scandal,” of Sutton Rodeo, and the Bull of the Circuit Finals went to “Extra Dirty Martini,” owned by Fettig Rodeo, Killdeer, ND.

The crowning of Miss Rodeo North Dakota is also a part of the finals.  Twenty-three year old cowgirl Callie Enander, Fargo, will wear the 2020 crown.

Year End and Average Winners for the Badlands Circuit
All-around Year End Champion: Eli Lord, Sturgis, S.D.
All-around Average Champion: Eli Lord, Sturgis, S.D.

Bareback Riding
Bareback Riding Year End Champion: Jamie Howlett, Rapid City, S.D.
Bareback Riding Average Champion: Jamie Howlett, Rapid City, S.D.

Steer Wrestling
Steer Wrestling Year End Champion:  Eli Lord, Sturgis S.D.
Steer Wrestling Average Champion: Joe Nelson, Alexander, N.D

Team Roping
Team Roping Year End Champion Header: Jon Peterson, Belle Fourche, S.D.
Heeler: Trae Smith, Georgetown, I.D.

Team Roping Average Champion Header: Turner Harris, Killdeer, N.D.
Heeler: Jade Nelson , Midland, S.D

Saddle Bronc Riding
Saddle Bronc Year End Champion: JJ Elshere, Hereford, S.D.
Saddle Bronc Average Champion: Shorty Garrett, Eagle Butte, S.D.

Barrel Racing
Barrel Racing Year End Champion: Jessica Routier, Buffalo, S.D.
Barrel Racing Average Champion:  Amanda Harris, Spearfish, S.D.

Tie-down Roping
Tie Down Roping Year End Champion: Trey Young, Dupree, S.D.
Tie Down Roping Average Champion: Trey Young, Dupree, S.D.

Bull Riding
Bull Riding Year End Champion: Jeff Bertus, Avon, S.D.
Bull Riding Average Champion: Chance Schott, McLaughlin, S.D.

Women’s Breakaway Roping
Year End Champion: Samantha Jorgenson, Watford City, N.D,
Average Champion: Tanegai Zilverberg, Holabird, S.D.

Phone number: 605-347-4455
E-mail: [email protected]
Address: 1612 Junction Avenue, Suite #1
Sturgis, SD 57785