Western South Dakota's Only Ranch Station
Four seats open on Sturgis City Council
News Staff

Four seats open on Sturgis City Council

STURGIS, S.D. – Those interested in running for Sturgis City Council can begin circulating petitions Friday, Jan. 26.

The Sturgis Finance Office will be open that day from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. to accommodate those who want to pick up and begin circulating petitions.

All petitions must be turned in at the City Finance Office by 5 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 23.

The municipal election will be held on Tuesday, April 9.

Those Sturgis City Council members whose terms will expire in 2024 include:

  • Ward 1— Angela Wilkerson,
  • Ward 2— Beka Zerbst
  • Ward 3— Aaron Jordan
  • Ward 4— Dean Sigman

To be eligible to run for the office of City Council in Sturgis, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age
  • You must be a US Citizen
  • You must reside in the ward you represent

The elected council members represent their wards within the city, bringing forward individual or group concerns to the entire elected body or the city manager, as appropriate.

Sturgis has four wards and two representatives for each ward. The mayor serves at large and is elected by all voters, regardless of ward of residence. Under the current system in which the city employs a city manager, the mayor has a few additional duties, but generally has the same duties and responsibilities as other council members.

The council is responsible for developing the long-range vision for the community. It also establishes the policies that affect the overall operation of the city.

The council focuses on the city’s goals, major projects, as well as long-term planning such as community growth, land use development, capital improvements, financing, and strategic planning.

Other members of the Sturgis City Council include:

  • Mayor Mark C. Carstensen, whose term expires in 2025
  • Ward 1 – Mike Bachand whose term expires in 2025
  • Ward 2 – Tony Dargatz whose term expires in 2025
  • Ward 3 – Preston Williams whose term expires in 2025
  • Ward 4 – Kevin Forrester whose term expires in 2025

People are also reading...


Rapid City, US
6:20 am, February 23, 2024
temperature icon 40°F
overcast clouds
Humidity 52 %
Pressure 1018 mb
Wind 11 mph
Wind Gust: 23 mph
Visibility: 0 km
Sunrise: 6:40 am
Sunset: 5:32 pm

Market News

Share via
Copy link