KBHB Music Vault 6:00pm - 11:59pm
Closings, Cancellations and Delays


Nation's farmers ask Trump to defend ethanol, stop RFS waivers

News Staff - September 30, 2019

PIERRE, SD - South Dakota Corn Growers Association was one of 23 state corn organizations to send a letter to President Trump, calling on him to follow the law and keep the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) whole.

The letter to the President comes on the heels of the Trump Administration's August approval of 31 new RFS waivers to big oil companies. This decision destroys demand for 1.4 billion gallons of ethanol, lowering the Renewable Fuels Standard 10 percent. To put that in perspective, South Dakota plants produce one billion gallons annually.

The latest exemptions are in addition to 2.6 billion gallons destroyed through waivers the previous two years, including exemptions to refineries owned by oil giants Exxon Mobil and Chevron, and billionaire investor Carl Icahn

Since President Trump took office, the EPA has more than quadrupled the number of waivers it has granted to refiners, saving the oil industry hundreds of millions of dollars and taking markets from corn farmers.

 A total of 85 waivers approved under the Trump Administration amount to 4.04 billion gallons, resulting in reduced corn demand due to lower ethanol blending and consumption and a rising number of ethanol producers slowing or idling production.

In the letter, state corn grower leaders urge the President to stop the harm caused by waivers and restore integrity to the RFS by directing the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to account for projected waivers beginning with the pending 2020 RFS volume rule.

Others signing onto the letter were:
- Jeremy Wilson, president, Alabama Soybean and Corn Association
- Dave Eckhardt, president, Colorado Corn Growers Association
- Rodney Harrell, president, Georgia Corn Growers Association
- Ted Mottaz, president, Illinois Corn Growers Association
- Sarah Delbecq, president, Indiana Corn Growers Association
- Jim Greif, president, Iowa Corn Growers Association
- Mark Roberts, president, Kentucky Corn Growers Association
- Jason Condrey, president, Louisiana Cotton and Grain Association
- Lenny Evan Miles Jr., president, Maryland Grain Producers Association
- Matt Frostic, president, Michigan Corn Growers Association
- Brian Thalmann, president, Minnesota Corn Growers Association
- Mike Pannell, president, Mississippi Corn Growers Association
- Mark Scott, president, Missouri Corn Growers Association
- Dan Nerud, president, Nebraska Corn Growers Association
- Jason Swede, president, New York Corn and Soybean Growers Association
- Alex Jordan, president, Corn Growers Association of North Carolina
- Randy Melvin, president, North Dakota Corn Growers Association
- Jon Miller, president, Ohio Corn and Wheat
- Elizabeth Hinkel, president, Pennsylvania Corn Growers Association
- Doug Noem, president, South Dakota Corn Growers Association

Phone number: 605-347-4455
E-mail: [email protected]
Address: 1612 Junction Avenue, Suite #1
Sturgis, SD 57785