Annual Sturgis Scooper Football Awards Ceremony held at Sturgis Community Center Tuesday Night

Gary MatthewsNovember 23, 2021Sports
photo by Gary MatthewsSturgis Scooper Football Seniors recognized at Tuesday Night's Award Ceremony.

STURGIS, S.D. – The 7th Annual Sturgis Scooper Football Award Show was held Tuesday night at the Sturgis Community Center Theater.

The annual show recognizes those who have showed competitive excellence and relentless effort for the 2021 season.

All State Fullback Konnor Berndt was awarded the Offensive Skills Player of the Year. KBHB Sports Director Gary Matthews presented the award to Konnor, who finished tops in the state in rushing this season.

Slade Keierleber won the Outstanding Offensive Lineman award and Aiden Werlinger captured the Outstanding Defensive Lineman.

Reese Jacobs won the M.V.P. Linebacker and Braden Temple received the M.V.P. Defensive Back award.

Kicker and Punter Dominik Smith was honored as the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Hayden Wright was awarded the Scout Team Player of the Year while Freshman Jadon Blair won Rookie of the Year.

Receiving the Breakout Player of the Year was Hunter Harrison.

Madison Schaefer won the Character Matters Competitor of the Year award and winning the prestigious Doug Miller award was Konnor Berndt.

Players selected to All Conference were also recognized. They include Konnor Berndt, Hunter Harrison, Brad Williams, Gunner Rohloff, Braden Temple, Tanner Ortlieb and Reese Jacobs. Berndt and Jacobs were selected to All State.

Academic All State winners were Buck Fickbohm, Peter Pulling, Sidney Peterson, Madison Schaefer, Slade Keierleber, Dominik Smith and Braden Temple.