Council members, mayor sworn in at Monday night’s Sturgis Council Meeting

photo by Gary MatthewsSworn in Monday night are L-R, Mark Carstensen, Preston Williams, Tony Dargatz, Kevin Forrester and Mike Bachand.

STURGIS, S.D. – The Sturgis City Council Monday night swore in the winning candidates from last month’s municipal election for their 2022-2023 session.

Mike Bachand in Ward 1, Tony Dargatz in Ward 2, Preston Williams in Ward 3 and Kevin Forrester in Ward 4 were all sworn in, along with Mayor Mark Carstensen, who won another term.

Outgoing council members Jason Anderson and Dave Martinson were given plaques and thanked for their dedication and time serving city government.

Once sworn in, Kevin Forrester was selected to serve as council president and Mike Bachand was selected to serve as council vice-president.