Dates and teams announced for 2021 South Dakota High School All Star Football Game

News ReleaseMay 4, 2021Sports
Dates and teams announced for 2021 South Dakota High School All Star Football Game

VERMILLION, S.D. – The Vermillion Area Chamber & Development Company (VCDC) is excited to welcome some of the best football players from across the state for this year’s South Dakota High School All-Star Football Game, presented by Sanford, for its 6th year, on Saturday June 12th, 2021.

Beginning Wednesday June 9th, over 90 talented players from across the state will come to Vermillion for an exciting 4-days of daily practices, social gatherings and team building activities. Throughout the week, players be honored at an All-Star Recognition Banquet with special guest speaker, and Coyote Hall of Famer, Bill Gassen, the CEO of Sanford.

For Vermillion Area youth, Tom O’Boyle will host a Kids Camp on Friday, June 11th from 1:30 pm – 3:00 pm. The Kids Camp is open to 4th – 6th graders and will cost $15. Kids in attendance can expect to learn basic football fundamentals of line play and skill position play.

“We’re very excited to bring this event back after having to cancel in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Nate Welch, President and CEO of the VCDC. “These young athletes work very hard throughout their high school careers, and we’re excited to celebrate and welcome them and their families from all over South Dakota to the City of Vermillion.”

2021 will see the South Dakota High School All-Star Game, presented by Sanford, return to the newly renovated DakotaDome after a two-year hiatus. The 18-month, $26 million renovation to the west side of the DakotaDome included two new entrances, a new football locker room that boasts 110 individual lockers and upgraded seating for fans including new corporate suites and loge boxes.

“The South Dakota Football Coaches’ Association is extremely thrilled to see the annual All-Star game return to USD and the DakotaDome.  With the renovations to the facility and the terrific experiences our athletes have had in the past, this should be the best one ever,” said Kim Nelson, Executive Secretary for the SD High School Football Coaches Association. “The treatment the athletes receive and the contacts and friendships they will make, will stay with them forever.  Thanks to the VCDC and the University of South Dakota for working so hard to get this game back on its feet.  Our state’s players and coaches are very happy to take part and we hope this tradition continues for a long time.”

This event is open to the public. Adult tickets are $20, Children 5-18 are $15, children 5 and under are free. For more ticket information visit or call the VCDC at 605.624.5571.

To date, the following All-Star athletes have been selected and confirmed to play:

Red Team:

Head Coach – Ben Kramer

Assistant Coaches – Brandon White, Russ Bailey, Dan Maciecjzak, Lex Heathershaw


Nathan Cook – Stanley County

Chayce Montagne – Dakota Valley

Ethyn Rollinger – Harrisburg

Trevor Fitzgerald – Yankton

Jaxon Kampshoff – Howard

Dominic Abraham – Garretson

Isaiah Robinson – Sioux Falls Lincoln

Kobey June – Dakota Valley

Cody Thompson – Lemmon/McIntosh

Bosten Morehart – Winner

Jackson Hansen – Winner

Kashas VanderWal – Sioux Valley

Ryan Dodds – Dakota Valley

Samuel Callies – Howard

David Severson – Douglas

Ashton Bultje – Sioux Valley

Brextin Garza – Belle Fourche

Michael Johnson – Sioux Falls Washington

Charlie Larson – St. Thomas More

Wren Jacobs – Sturgis

Aaron Thomas – Sioux Falls Washington

Kayden Ahlemeier – Potter County

Richard Long – Harding County

Ashaun Roach-Valandra – St. Mary

Gaven Sudbeck – Kadoka Area

Jace Kelley – Custer

Tyler Clark – Douglas

Daniel Sedlacek – Custer

Malik Ahmed Hosie – Douglas

Isaiah Portwood – Lemmon/McIntosh

Ian Bennett – Tea Area

Luke Rettedal – Tea Area

Talon Elshere – Sturgis

Jaxton Schiller – Sioux Valley

Malcolm Johnson – Sioux Falls Washington

Marcus Harkless – Hot Springs

Connor Saunders – Vermillion

TJ Hamar – Kadoka Area


Blue Team:

Head Coach – Rich Lundstrom

Assistant Coaches – Steve Steele, Shaun Wanner, Byron Pudwill, John King


Bryston Goehring – Mobridge/Pollock

Jackson Hilton – Brandon Valley

Tristan Abbott – Wolesy/Wessington

Landon Leidholt – Warner

Regan Bollweg – Pierre

Tate Johnson – Brandon Valley

Brock Stevens – WWSSC

Josh Livermore – West Central

Sam Kohls – Sioux Falls Roosevelt

Zach Schreier – Dell Rapids

Coby Maeschen – Dell Rapids

Jackson McNeil – Warner

Jacob Schwab – SF O’Gorman

Kaleb Kubal – Bon Homme

Rylee Schultz – Bridgewater/Emery/Ethan

Preston Taylor – Pierre

Jordan Gall – Scotland

Parker Reed – Brandon Valley

Derek Eidsness – West Central

Braden Goehring – Mobridge/Pollock

Cayden Eisemann – Mobridge/Pollock

Seth Peterson – Canton

Hayden Reints – Langford

Wyatt Bray – Britton-Hecla

Bodie Burnham – Bridgewater/Emery/Ethan

Ben Ziebarth – Mitchell

Johnny Rozeboom – Burke

Derick Siemonsma – Huron

Hunter Lemer – Aberdeen Central

Isaac Sumption – North Border

Jaxon Skinner – West Central

Parker Phillips – Mitchell

Payton Gassman – Florence/Henry

Carter Owen – Florence/Henry

Gunnar Gehring – Pierre

Martin Raasch – Great Plains Lutheran

Matthew Hettich – Ipswich/Edmonds Central

Colby Rumpza – Dakota Hills