Sturgis Council welcomes three new members Monday night

Gary MatthewsMay 3, 2021Local
Photo by Gary MatthewsDean Sigman, Aaron Jordan, Beka Zerbst and Angela Wilkerson are swon in by City Attorney Greg Barnier at Monday night's council meeting.

STURGIS, S.D. – Three new members of the Sturgis City Council were sworn in Monday night after winning seats by having no opponents running against them in this years municipal election.

Angela Wilkerson, Dean Sigman and Aaron Jordan took their oath of office as City Attorney Greg Barnier performed the swearing in.

Also part of Monday night’s swearing in was incumbent Beka Zerbst, who also ran unopposed for another term.

Zerbst was also selected to serve as council president for the 2021-2022 council session. Kevin Forrester was elected to serve as Vice-President.

Outgoing council members were Rhea Crane, Ron Waterland and Terry Jensen.