The best in South Dakota high school football gather for the annual all-star game this weekend

News ReleaseJune 8, 2021Sports
SD High School Football All Star Game

VERMILLION, S.D. – The Vermillion Area Chamber & Development Company (VCDC) will be welcoming the most accomplished South Dakota High School football seniors this week for the South Dakota High School All-Star Football Game, presented by Sanford.

Athletes from 48 South Dakota communities will be represented in Vermillion with players arriving for practices on Wednesday, June 9th, followed by a host of activities in the lead up to the traditional Red versus Blue game at 1:00 pm on Saturday, June 12th, to be played at the DakotaDome.

“We’ve got a fantastic week lined up for the extremely talented young athletes coming to Vermillion for the All-Star game,” said Nate Welch, President and CEO of the VCDC. “An event like this creates the perfect opportunity to showcase the great town of Vermillion to families across the entire state of South Dakota. We can’t wait to welcome them all to not only enjoy a great game of football, but to enjoy Vermillion’s unique offerings while they are visiting us.”

After check-in at the USD dorms, the honored young athletes will begin a non-stop experience of great food, special entertainment, and daily practices at both the USD practice field and the newly renovated DakotaDome. On the evening of Friday June 11th, the athletes and their visiting family and friends will gather for an All-Star Recognition Banquet.

The All-Star Recognition Banquet will start at 7:00 pm at the Old Lumber Company, 15 Court Street, Vermillion, SD. Bill Gassen, President and CEO of Sanford Health, will be the guest speaker. Gassen was a great contributor to Coyote sports as he was a talented two-sport athlete at USD. He left USD with numerous awards and accolades in both football and track and field.

Head coach of the red team, Ben Kramer, is the head football coach, high school strength and conditioning coach, and high school physical education teacher for the Hot Springs Bison. Kramer will be joined by assistant coaches Brandon White, Russ Bailey, Dan Maciecjzak, and Lex Heathershaw in the effort to bring red team to victory.

“Being selected to coach with this group of coaches and this group of athletes is an honor,” said Kramer. “Vermillion does a great job taking care of us all week long. I am really looking forward to it.”

Head coach of the blue team, Rich Lundstrom, is the head football coach, assistant girls’ basketball coach and head girls track coach for the Canton C-Hawks. Lundstrom will be joined by assistant coaches Steve Steele, Shaun Wanner, Byron Pudwill, and John King in bringing the gold home for the blue team.

“I am very excited for the opportunity to coach such an outstanding group of players,” said head coach of the blue team, Rich Lundstrom. “I am equally excited to work with our coaching staff. Our offense is going to be wide open and our defense is going to attack from everywhere. The new ‘Greatest Show on Turf!’”

For Vermillion Area youth, Tom O’Boyle will host a Kids Camp on Friday, June 11th from 1:30 pm – 3:00 pm. The Kids Camp is open to 4th – 6th graders and will cost $15 and located at the USD practice field. Kids in attendance can expect to learn basic football fundamentals of line play and skill position play.

The South Dakota High School All-Star game, presented by Sanford is open to the public. Adult tickets are $20, children aged 5-18 years are $15, and children 5 and under are free. For more ticket information visit or call the VCDC at 605.624.5571.

The final team rosters for the South Dakota All-Star High School Football game are:

Red Team:

Head Coach – Ben Kramer

Assistant Coaches – Brandon White, Russ Bailey, Dan Maciecjzak, Lex Heathershaw


Aaron Thomas – Sioux Falls Washington

Ashaun Roach-Valandra – St. Mary

Ashton Bultje – Sioux Valley

Bosten Morehart – Winner

Brextin Garza – Belle Fourche

Carson Bailey – Lemmon/McIntosh

Charlie Larson – St. Thomas More HS

Chayce Montagne – Dakota Valley HS

Cody Thompson – Lemmon/McIntosh

Connor Logan – Sioux Valley

Connor Saunders – Vermillion

Daniel Sedlacek – Custer HS

David Severson – Douglas

Dominic Abraham – Garretson

Ethyn Rollinger – Harrisburg

Gaven Sudbeck – Kadoka Area HS

Isaiah Portwood – Lemmon/McIntosh

Isaiah Robinson – Sioux Falls Lincoln

Jace Kelley – Custer HS

Jack Green – St. Thomas More HS

Jaxon Kampshoff – Howard

Jaxton Schiller – Sioux Valley

Jackson Hansen – Winner

John Noordsy – Brookings

Kashas VanderWal – Sioux Valley

Kayden Ahlemeier – Potter County

Kobey June – Dakota Valley HS

Lincoln Boetel – Harrisburg

Luke Rettedal – Tea Area HS

Malik Ahmed Hosie – Douglas

Nathan Cook – Stanley County

Parker Theobald – Brookings

Reed Ohrtman – Kadoka Area HS

Richard Long – Harding County

Ryan Dodds – Dakota Valley HS

Samuel Callies – Howard

Talon Elshere – Sturgis

TJ Hamar – Kadoka Area HS

Trevor Fitzgerald – Yankton

Tyler Clark – Douglas

Wren Jacobs – Sturgis


Blue Team:

Head Coach – Rich Lundstrom

Assistant Coaches – Steve Steele, Shaun Wanner, Byron Pudwill, John King


Ben Ziebarth – Mitchell

Bodie Burnham – Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan

Braden Goehring – Mobridge-Pollock

Brock Stevens – WWSSC

Bryston Goehring – Mobridge-Pollock

Carter Hogg – Aberdeen Central

Carter Owen – Florence/Henry

Cayden Eisemann – Mobridge-Pollock

Coby Maeschen – Dell Rapids HS

Colby Rumpza – Dakota Hills

Darien Rabe – Gayville-Volin

Derek Eidsness – West Central

Derick Siemonsma – Huron

Gunnar Gehring – Pierre

Hayden Reints – Langford

Hunter Lemer – Aberdeen Central

Jackson Hilton – Brandon Valley

Jackson McNiel – Warner HS

Jacob Schwab – Sioux Falls O’Gorman

Jacob Williams – Wolsey Wessington

Jaimen Farrell – Groton Area HS

Jaxon Skinner – West Central

Johnny Rozeboom – Burke

Jordan Gall – Scotland HS

Josh Livermore – West Central

Kaleb Kubal – Bon Homme

Landon Leidholt – Warner HS

Maguire Raske – Pierre

Martin Raasch – Great Plains Lutheran

Matthew Hettich – Ipswitch/Edmunds Central

Parker Phillips – Mitchell

Parker Reed – Brandon Valley

Payton Gassman – Florence/Henry

Preston Taylor – Pierre

Regan Bollweg – Pierre

Rhoss Oliver – Gregory HS

Ryan Janes – Huron

Rylee Schultz – Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan

Seth Peterson – Canton HS

Tate Johnson – Brandon Valley

Tristan Abbott – Wolsey-Wessington

Wes Koenig – Brookings Bobcats

Wyatt Bray – Britton-Hecla

Zach Schreier – Dell Rapids HS

Zane McMillen – Gregory HS