Western South Dakota's Only Ranch Station
scott vanderwal southdakota farm bureau president 21 years

Scott VanderWal in his 21st year as president of SDFB

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The South Dakota Farm Bureau (SDFB) recently held its 106th Annual Convention in Sioux Falls, marking a significant moment for the organization. Scott VanderWal of Volga was re-elected as President, cementing his 21st year in this pivotal role. VanderWal’s influence extends beyond the state level as he also contributes as Vice President of the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF).

The SDFB convention was not just about VanderWal’s re-election. It also saw the re-election of three state board members, namely Reid Jensen of Burbank, Nick Ihnen of Tulare, and Clay Conry of Mud Butte. Their respective representations for SDFB districts 1, 4, and 5 demonstrate a strong continuity in the bureau’s leadership.

Key appointments included Tony Farmen of Ft. Pierre, a senior risk manager with First National Bank, taking a new role on the state board to represent agri-business members. Caleb McGregor of Newell, an agricultural engineering and agronomy student at South Dakota State University, was appointed to represent student members.

The convention also acknowledged significant contributions and transitions. Matt Smith of Hitchcock and John Piroutek of Milesville, S.D., were honored for their past services on the state board. The Young Farmers & Ranchers (YF&R) committee underwent a leadership change, with Jay and Sarah Myers of Winner stepping in as the new chairs, succeeding Tyrel and Kassidy Eisenbraun of Wall.

A special accolade was presented to Lyle Nepodahl of Platte, who received the Richard Kjerstad Friend of YF&R Award. This award, named after former SDFB President Richard Kjerstad of Wall, recognizes outstanding contributions to the Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee.

People are also reading...


Rapid City, US
3:28 pm, February 21, 2024
temperature icon 52°F
broken clouds
Humidity 42 %
Pressure 1011 mb
Wind 16 mph
Wind Gust: 0 mph
Visibility: 0 km
Sunrise: 6:43 am
Sunset: 5:29 pm
Avreigh Long

Market News

Share via
Copy link