Western South Dakota's Only Ranch Station

SD FFA members exhibit at state fair

SD FFA Founation
Meat Goat Show winners

HURON, SD – Members of the South Dakota FFA participated in a wide range of educational activities during the 2021 South Dakota State Fair held September 2nd – 6th, in Huron. At the State Fair, there were 361 FFA members who exhibited 1232 exhibits.

1st – Bridgewater-Emery; 2nd –McCook Central

1st place – Wolsey-Wessington; 2nd place – Beresford; 3rd place – Deuel

1st place – McCook Central

1st place – Kacy Goehring, Parkston; 2nd place – Jackson Harberts, Bridgewater-Emery; 3rd place – Tessa DeWitt, Bridgewater-Emery

Champion Market Steer – Cody Eich, Howard
Reserve Champion Market Steer – Rachel Derksen, Huron
Champion Market Heifer – Cody Eich, Howard
Reserve Champion Market Heifer – Janae Olson, Parker
Market Beef Showmanship – 1st: Bryce Beitelspacher, Bowdle; 2nd: Kaitlyn Micheel, Huron; 3rd: Makayla Simmerman, Tri-Valley, 4th: Rachel Derksen, Huron, 5th: Mitchell VanderWal, Norwestern Area
Champion Breeding Heifer – Jady LeDoux, Highmore
Reserve Champion Breeding Heifer – Elizabeth Albrecht, Howard
Breeding Beef Showmanship – 1st: Sarah Welch, Garretson; 2nd: Wyat James, Estelline; 3rd: Drew Pederson, Garretson, 4th: Sawyer Naasz, Platte/Geddes, 5th: Paislee Carlson, Canton

Champion Market Gilt – Tyler Fastnacht, Wessington Springs
Reserve Champion Market Gilt – Ryker Johnke, Madison Central
Market Gilt Showmanship- 1st: Tate Johnson, Beresford; 2nd: Rylee Schultz, Bridgewater-Emery; 3rd: Ryker Johnke, Madison Central; 4th: Lacie Weber, Rutland; 5th: Jocelyn Wagner, Hitchcock-Tulare
Champion Market Barrow – Tanner Calmus, Howard
Reserve Market Barrow – Ryker Johnke, Madison Central
Market Barrow Showmanship – 1st: Ashton Ross, Parker; 2nd: Tanner Calmus, Howard; Estelline; 3rd: Braelyn Balous, Lennox-Sundstrom; 4th: Carter Ross, Parker; 5th: Jovie Wirt, Lennox-Sundstrom

Champion Breeding Ewe – Tyson Miller, Estelline
Reserve Champion Breeding Ewe – Kasandra Knutson, Viborg-Hurley
Champion Ram – Josie Nold, Rutland
Reserve Champion Ram– Emily Nold, Rutland
Breeding Sheep Showmanship – 1st: Emily Nold, Rutland; 2nd: Bailey Weegar, Viborg-Hurley; 3rd: Logan Tlam, Mitchell; 4th: Carissa Scheel, Wessington Springs; 5th: Emily Robbins, Elkton
Champion Market Lamb – Cody Larson, Brookings
Reserve Champion Market Lamb – Trevor Bergh, Florence
Market Lamb Showmanship – 1st: Raina Johnson, Harrisburg; 2nd: Taya Chelmo, Kimball; 3rd: Sydney Tlam, Mitchell; 4th: Jessica Kott, Kimball; 5th: Trevor Bergh, Florence

Champion Doe- Makayla Cross, Dell Rapids
Reserve Champion Doe- Alana Howard, Miller
Champion Milking Doe- Keeleigh Elwood, Chamberlain
Reserve Champion Milking Doe- Jaycee Tebay, Dell Rapids
Overall Champion Dairy Goat-Keeleigh Elwood, Chamberlain
Overall Reserve Dairy Goat- Jaycee Tebay, Dell Rapids
Dairy Goat Showmanship-1st: Lane Thompson, Elkton; 2nd: Alana Howard, Miller; 3rd: Makayla Cross, Dell Rapids; 4th: Keeleigh Elwood, Chamberlain; 5th: Trevon Cross, Dell Rapids

Champion Breeding Meat Goat – Riley Larson, Wessington Springs
Reserve Champion Breeding Meat Goat – Carley Christ, Freeman
Breeding Meat Goat Showmanship – 1st: Kahli Gall, Freeman; 2nd: Will Benson, Tri-Valley; 3rd: Jada Severson, Lennox-Sundstrom; 4th: Max Nordlund, McCook Central; 5th: Lincoln Dikoff, Faulkton
Champion Market Meat Goat- Layne Lunstra, Lennox-Sundstrom
Reserve Champion Market Meat Goat- Danika Gordon, Sturgis
Market Meat Goat Showmanship-1st: Matea Gordon, Sturgis; 2nd: Bennett Gordon, Sturgis; 3rd: Kaylen Stearns, Hot Springs; 4th: Carley Christ, Beresford; 5th: Jana Stearns, Hot Springs

Grand Champion Rabbit – Braelyn Berens, Parker
Reserve Champion Rabbit – Braelyn Berens, Parker
Rabbit Showmanship – 1st: Noah Schloe, Baltic; 2nd: Kiarra Stuck, Northwestern Area; 3rd: Hunter Masterson, Menno; 4th: Madison Lauck, McCook Central; 5th: Julieann Freeman, Brookings

Supreme Champion Female – Sydney Triebwasser, Sunshine Bible Academy
Champion Holstein Female – Bethany Rennich, Sioux Valley
Senior Champion Holstein – Bethany Rennich, Sioux Valley
Senior Reserve Champion Holstein – Bethany Rennich, Sioux Valley
Junior Champion Holstein Heifer – Neil Haase, Parker
Junior Reserve Champion Holstein Heifer – Paige Haase, Parker
Champion All Other Breed Female – Sydney Triebwasser, Sunshine Bible Academy
Senior Champion All Other Breed – Sydney Triebwasser, Sunshine Bible Academy
Senior Reserve Champion All Other Breed- Steven Paulson, Groton
Junior Champion All Other Breed Heifer – Skyler Plucker, Lennox-SundstroM
Junior Reserve Champion All Other Breed Heifer – Gabe Mattson, Deuel
Dairy Showmanship: 1st: Natalie Haase, Parker; 2nd: Skyler Plucker, Lennox-Sundstrom; 3rd: Katelynn Scherff, Dell Rapids; 4th: Blake Klitzke, McCook Central; 5th: Geoff Dunkelberger, Parker

1st Place – Mitchell VanderWal, Northwestern Area
2nd Place – Keeleigh Elwood, Chamberlain

1st Place – Alana Howard, Miller
2nd Place – Raina Johnson, Harrisburg

People are also reading...

Joshua Haiar / South Dakota Searchlight
South Dakota Farmers Union President Doug Sombke discusses eminent domain concerns during a press conference Oct. 12, 2023, at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls. The press conference was held to announce the launch of the South Dakotans First coalition.


Rapid City, US
11:59 pm, November 30, 2023
temperature icon 28°F
overcast clouds
Humidity 68 %
Pressure 1013 mb
Wind 8 mph
Wind Gust: 0 mph
Visibility: 0 km
Sunrise: 7:06 am
Sunset: 4:16 pm

Market News

Share via
Copy link