Western South Dakota's Only Ranch Station
Primary Election-county and local races

Area Primary Races-Recount looming for Treasurer in MC

STURGIS, S.D. – In some county races from Tuesday’s primary, Doreen Creed wins re-election to the Meade County Commission for District 2. Winning the District 4 race was Earl Severn over Melanie Torno.

A recount is looming in the Meade County Treasurer race where Robin Shrake is the winner with 1,860 votes. Robin Korth has 1,813.

For Pennington County Commissioner, Ron Weifenbach wins a race in District 2 with Jerry Derr winning District 4. The vote is close between Derr and Todd Trask and a recount is possible. Just 23 votes separate the two.

For Lawrence County Commissioner, there is a possible recount where Bob Ewing and Rick Tysdal have the most votes. Erica Douglas is third.

For Butte County Commission, Thomas Brunner wins the District 2 race with Terry Batterman winning District 4 by just one vote over Sue Broadhurst. A recount is certain there.

In school board races, Aaron Odegaard, Terry Koontz and Scottie Bruch win three-year term seats for Meade 46-1.

For Rapid City School Board, Donna Moore and Katy Urban win seats.

For the Custer School Board, Heath Reindl and Jeff Barnes win two open seats and Taz Olson and Clint Doll win seats to the Harding County School Board. For the Hill City School District, Jacob Rapp and Carmen Ronish win two open seats. Also in Hill City, Tana Nichols wins a mayoral race and Justin Thiry and Dennis Seibert win town council races.

For Fall River  County Commission, three open seats go to John Staben, Les Cope and Joe Allen, although a recount is possible there.

In Haakon County, Tim Quinn wins the sheriff race and an initiated measure that would have mandated the hand counting of ballots fails 61 to 39 percent.

Complete results are here:

Primary Election County Results

2024 Primary Local Races

People are also reading...


Rapid City, US
12:06 pm, June 17, 2024
temperature icon 54°F
Humidity 92 %
Pressure 1009 mb
Wind 5 mph
Wind Gust: 0 mph
Visibility: 0 km
Sunrise: 5:09 am
Sunset: 8:38 pm
Kierra Killinger

Market News

Share via
Copy link