Western South Dakota's Only Ranch Station
Primary Election-Legislative Results

Primary-Upsets in several area Legislative Races

STURGIS, S.D. – There are some upsets in area races from yesterday’s Primary, and several races will see possible recounts.

Incumbent Gary Cammack was one of the upsets in the legislative races, where he was defeated in the District 29 House race by Terri Jorgenson and Kathy Rice.

And, in the District 29 Senate race, John Carley defeats incumbent Kirk Chaffee.

In District 30, a possible recount looms in the District 30 House race where Trish Ladner and Tim Goodwin are the current winners with 2,007 and 1,955  votes respectively. Pat Baumann has 1,876 votes and Matt Smith has 1,745.

In the District 30 Senate race, Amber Hulse gets the win.

In District 31, Randy Deibert wins the Senate race and Mary Fitzgerald and Scott Odenbach get the House race.

In District 32, Steve Duffy and Brook Kaufman win the House race with Curt Voight capturing the Senate race.

A possible recount in the District 34 Senate race where Taffy Howard has 1,598 votes for the win over Jason Green with 1,564. In the House race Heather Baxter and Mike Derby get the nod.

And, in District 35, Greg Blanc wins a three-way race for the Senate.

For complete numbers and vote totals, click here:Primary Election Legislative Results

People are also reading...


Rapid City, US
12:50 pm, June 24, 2024
temperature icon 93°F
few clouds
Humidity 29 %
Pressure 1010 mb
Wind 20 mph
Wind Gust: 28 mph
Visibility: 0 km
Sunrise: 5:10 am
Sunset: 8:40 pm
Kierra Killinger

Market News

Share via
Copy link